Amaze yourself!

How do you rate as a 1930s husband or wife? Try both. Which do you best match?

Interestingly, a number of feminist bloggers seem to be good 1930s husbands. Evidence of role reversal? Or maybe 1930s husbands weren’t so bad after all. I mean, look at my score. Take the test.

53

As a 1930s husband, I am
Average

Hat-tip: The Hand Mirror

Update: More on the development of the 1939 Marital Rating Scale at Boing Boing.

Tags:

8 Responses to “Amaze yourself!”

  1. Andrew is getting fit Says:

    135

    As a 1930s husband, I am
    Very Superior

    Or else I’m very whipped. God knows.

  2. Sconehead Says:

    Looks interesting.

    I’ll do it once I’ve finished cooking dinner and washing the dishes, and let you know how I get on.

  3. Sconehead Says:

    I scored 83 making me ‘Very Superior’ as a 1930s husband. (Stop laughing).

    I also tried to answer as truthfully as I could, so I’m wondering about the reliability (is that the right soc. sci. term?) of this test. Given my recent divorce, such a result is quite poignant.

    I was surprised at the result, especially after p3 which I thought would have done me in as a husband. Nice one.

  4. jafapete Says:

    Scone, I did wonder about posting a few thoughts on construct validity. Then I thought I could let people do the test and such things would make more sense. The underlying construct does not appear to be based on sound theory, but rather reflects contemporary views about an ‘ideal marriage’.

    The point is, what does “superiority” mean when we’re talking about a 1930s husband? I thought I knew, and expected to get a very low score, being a bit of a “new age male”. But as I filled out the survey it occurred to me that some of the dimensions of a superior 1930s husband might be shared with a model twenty-first century husband. It couldn’t have been my swearing and raging at other drivers could it?

  5. Julie Says:

    Thanks for the hat tip, glad you enjoyed the test 🙂

    [Thanks Julie, it’s an interesting way to generate some thinking about how much things have changed in marriage (or not).]

  6. peterquixote Says:

    it assumes a person has a wife and children
    [Good point, namesake. I felt bad about the fact that single never-marrieds (common law or otherwise) are excluded.]

  7. Peter Says:

    I can’t believe that you only got 53. Myself, I scored 83 ‘Very Superior’. I think that “Andrew is getting fit” is whipped — there can be no other explanation.

  8. Julie Says:

    To pick up on pq’s point, I would have answered quite a bit of the wife test differently before I had a child, and I think I would have scored even lower. And possibly will do again once I go back to work and my partner takes over as primary caregiver.

Leave a Reply

