Bettin’ on Palin goin’

Fortune reports on the Intrade prediction market on “Sarah Palin to be withdrawn as Republican VP nominee/candidate before 2008 presidential election.”

It opened Tuesday morning US-time, and has traded mostly in the 10%–15% band:

Update: MacDoc alerts us to the new epidemic, Palin Derangement Syndrome or PDS, a variant of Bush Derangement Syndrome, here.

Tags:

4 Responses to “Bettin’ on Palin goin’”

  1. macdoctor01 Says:

    JP: Apologies for link-whoring, but I think you will find an explanation for this strange behavior here.

    Not at all, MacDoc. I’ve upgraded the link to the post. Do the symptoms include convulsive laughter at the thought that the GOP would think this a good idea? 🙂

  2. macdoctor01 Says:

    Watching the news tonight, I think the symptoms of PDS might include compulsive nitpicking. Palin gave a great speech (remember JP, she’s a rightie – there won’t be much in her speech you agree with, but it was a good speech, nevertheless). The media then sat around in a little love-in, picking over the bones and preening themselves. It was truly remarkable sight. Reminded me of a dead animal I once saw on the african plains. Hyenas and vultures. Lovely.

    MacDoc, I tried watching the speech honest. But, after all the stuff about laying off the family, and then all the introductions, I couldn’t stand the hypocrisy, and turned elsewhere. Checked out the transcript of the speech, and it doesn’t bear too much close scrutiny, but than few speeches ever do.

  3. christianliberal Says:

    Where do I place my bets??!!

    She certainly gave the home crowd what they wanted!

    I’m concerned though that she supports the Bush war, and will probably continue spending hundreds of billions of dollars for death and destruction.
    I just don’t see that as “pro-life.” Too bad.

    I wonder too, how she would stand up to the tough guys, like Putin, Kim Il Sung, or Ahmadinejad, not to mention Joe Biden!

    Opposed to sex ed, and now her daughter is pregnant. How smart is that?

  4. stephen23 Says:

    ‘There wasn’t ‘abstinence only’ education in her school, therefore we need less sex-ed and more abstinence promotion’, would be the answer I’d give if I was Palin.

Leave a comment